Planning Controls

Planning in NSW is directed by the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 (EPA Act).

This Act sets out both State and Local Government responsibilities to ensure that our built and natural environments are managed and developed in appropriate and sustainable ways.

The Act provides for different levels of regulation and guidance through State Environmental Planning Policies (SEPPs), Local Environmental Plans (LEPs) and Development Control Plans (DCPs).